books, books, books!

 I don’t normally do meme-ish posts, but this will be an exception, as it appeals to that insatiable bookworm (more like a tapeworm) in me. 

I was reading Closeted Pastor this morning, and she posted this list from “The Big Read,” which is designed to get people to reading. The list is the NEA’s top 100 books, of which, despite it all, they estimate the average adult has read only six. The ones I’ve read are in red, and I’ve posted a few thoughts on those that motivated me to comment upon.

Yeah, I’ve read a lot. But I’m happy to say I now have a ready-made reading list to occupy my spare time (HA!)—you know, that time I have when I’m not reading philosophy or theology.

It would be interesting to see what you’ve read, too, if you want to put a list on your blog or a comment on mine.


1 Pride and Prejudice – Jane Austen (I love all things Jane, and this book has the best quotation ever: “Oh, did I say that out loud?”)

2 The Lord of the Rings – J. R. R. Tolkien (annual reading, along with The Hobbit and The Silmarillian)

3 Jane Eyre – Charlotte Bronte (beautiful and tragic)

4 Harry Potter series – J. K. Rowling (genius! great Bildungsroman and amazing use of quest imagery)

5 To Kill a Mockingbird – Harper Lee (the movie is good, too!)

6 The Bible (countless times in many translations)

7 Wuthering Heights – Emily Bronte

8 Nineteen Eighty Four – George Orwell (first time I read this was New Year’s Eve 1983. Just had to. I’m like that)

9 His Dark Materials – Philip Pullman

10 Great Expectations – Charles Dickens (Not as great as other Dickens books, methinks)

11 Little Women – Louisa M. Alcott

12 Tess of the D’Urbervilles – Thomas Hardy (Wow! I love Hardy, novels and poetry)

13 Catch 22 – Joseph Heller

14 Complete Works of Shakespeare (Okay, so I haven’t read the complete works, but all the comedies, tragedies, sonnets, and most the histories. I admit it, I’ve read none of King John. I hang my head.)

15 Rebecca – Daphne Du Maurier

16 The Hobbit – J. R. R. Tolkien

17 Birdsong – Sebastian Faulks

18 Catcher in the Rye – J. D. Salinger

19 The Time Traveler’s Wife – Audrey Niffenegger

20 Middlemarch – George Eliot (I actually taught this novel to a college class years ago…)

21 Gone With The Wind – Margaret Mitchell

22 The Great Gatsby – F. Scott Fitzgerald

23 Bleak House – Charles Dickens

24 War and Peace – Leo Tolstoy (brilliant! And the death of the prince….sob)

25 The Hitch Hiker’s Guide to the Galaxy – Douglas Adams

26 Brideshead Revisited – Evelyn Waugh

27 Crime and Punishment – Fyodor Dostoyevsky (I love anything Dostoevsky!)

28 Grapes of Wrath – John Steinbeck (In contrast, I loathe most things Steinbeck)

29 Alice in Wonderland – Lewis Carroll

30 The Wind in the Willows – Kenneth Grahame

31 Anna Karenina – Leo Tolstoy

32 David Copperfield – Charles Dickens

33 Chronicles of Narnia – C. S. Lewis (read the Chronicles of Narnia every year, too)

34 Emma – Jane Austen

35 Persuasion – Jane Austen

36 The Lion, The Witch and The Wardrobe – C. S. Lewis (so how is this listed again? cf. #33)

37 The Kite Runner – Khaled Hosseini

38 Captain Corelli’s Mandolin – Louis De Bernieres

39 Memoirs of a Geisha – Arthur Golden

40 Winnie the Pooh – A. A. Milne (sing Hurrah! for Winnie the Pooh!)

41 Animal Farm – George Orwell

42 The Da Vinci Code – Dan Brown (gripping)

43 One Hundred Years of Solitude – Gabriel Garcia Marquez

44 A Prayer for Owen Meaney – John Irving

45 The Woman in White – Wilkie Collins

46 Anne of Green Gables – LM Montgomery

47 Far From The Madding Crowd – Thomas Hardy

48 The Handmaid’s Tale- Margaret Atwood

49 Lord of the Flies – William Golding

50 Atonement – Ian McEwan

51 Life of Pi – Yann Martel (Okay, I started this one, and never finished it. So maybe it’s next)

52 Dune – Frank Herbert (my friend Chris would kill me if she knew I’d not ever read this…)

53 Cold Comfort Farm – Stella Gibbons (HAHAHAHAHA!! Great book)

54 Sense and Sensibility – Jane Austen

55 A Suitable Boy – Vikram Seth

56 The Shadow of the Wind – Carlos Ruiz Zafon

57 A Tale Of Two Cities – Charles Dickens (the most famous opening line of a book, other than “it was a dark and stormy night…)

58 Brave New World – Aldous Huxley (you notice how all the dystopias are on this list? all, that is, but Farenheit 451…)

59 The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-time – Mark Haddon

60 Love In The Time Of Cholera – Gabriel Garcia Marquez

61 Of Mice and Men – John Steinbeck

62 Lolita – Vladimir Nabokov

63 The Secret History – Donna Tartt

64 The Lovely Bones – Alice Sebold (Okay, so I cheated here, I actually listened to this book)

65 Count of Monte Cristo – Alexandre Dumas (I love Dumas)

66 On The Road – Jack Kerouac

67 Jude the Obscure – Thomas Hardy (the most controversial Hardy novel, and the one that I read first. Love it.)

68 Bridget Jones’s Diary – Helen Fielding

69 Midnight’s Children – Salman Rushdie

70 Moby Dick – Herman Melville (another one I started and didn’t finish)

71 Oliver Twist – Charles Dickens

72 Dracula – Bram Stoker

73 The Secret Garden – Frances Hodgson Burnett

74 Notes From A Small Island – Bill Bryson

75 Ulysses – James Joyce (I tried. Honestly I did.)

76 The Bell Jar – Sylvia Plath (I hang my head in shame for not yet having read this…)

77 Swallows and Amazons – Arthur Ransome

78 Germinal – Emile Zola

79 Vanity Fair – William Makepeace Thackeray (‘nother half read novel)

80 Possession – A. S. Byatt

81 A Christmas Carol – Charles Dickens (used to read this and Cricket on the Hearth every Christmastide)

82 Cloud Atlas – David Mitchell

83 The Color Purple – Alice Walker

84 The Remains of the Day – Kazuo Ishiguro

85 Madame Bovary – Gustave Flaubert

86 A Fine Balance – Rohinton Mistry

87 Charlotte’s Web – E. B. White

88 The Five People You Meet In Heaven – Mitch Albom

89 Adventures of Sherlock Holmes – Sir Arthur Conan Doyle

90 The Faraway Tree Collection – Enid Blyton

91 Heart of Darkness – Joseph Conrad

92 The Little Prince – Antoine De Saint-Exupery (I collect this book I love it so much–have it in five languages now)

93 The Wasp Factory – Iain Banks

94 Watership Down – Richard Adams

95 A Confederacy of Dunces – John Kennedy Toole

96 A Town Like Alice – Nevil Shute

97 The Three Musketeers – Alexandre Dumas

98 Hamlet – William Shakespeare (Isn’t this included in the COMPLETE works of Shakespeare?? cf. #14)

99 Charlie and the Chocolate Factory – Roald Dahl (love this book—used it once to illustrate Aristotelian Virtue Ethics)

100 Les Miserables – Victor Hugo (except for that section where he goes on and on and on about the gamin, this is an excellent book!)
 

One thought on “books, books, books!

  1. WISDOMTEACHESME

    greetings,

    thank you for the list and the links.

    i enjoy reading yoru blog.

    i encourage you to continue to keep taking those steps as they have been ordered for you….

    always holding Her Hand

    Reply

Leave a Reply

